Posted March 31, 2020 by Jeff in Tunes

The National Streaming 2010 Concert from the Brooklyn Academy of Music

The National
The National

The National announced they will release a 10-year anniversary expanded edition of their 2010 album High Violet on June 19. The indie rock band’s fifth studio album features tunes such as “Terrible Love,” “Bloodbuzz Ohio,” “England” and “Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks.”

In addition to the 10 original tracks, the triple LP package includes a third LP with songs that were never before available on vinyl, including “Wake Up Your Saints,” an alternate version of “Terrible Love,” “Walk Off” and more. The vinyl comes in three different versions: Standard (white and purple marbled vinyl); Cherry Tree (white and purple split color vinyl); and Vinyl Me Please (white and purple splatter vinyl).

To celebrate the announcement, the National put its D.A. Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus-directed film, The National – High Violet Live from Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) on YouTube.

The band has also announced that all profits from its webstore and fan club enrollment will subsidize the lost wages for its 12 crew members until the end of the COVID-19 crisis.

“Our crew are the lifeblood of our touring operation and have become family through the many years we’ve worked together,” reads a statement from the band. “As uncertainty looms over the state of the live concert industry, we will direct all profits from merch sales through our webstore, new Cherry Tree fan club enrollments, and sales from the Cherry Tree members-only store to support our crew members throughout this crisis to the best of our ability.”


Jeff started writing about rock ’n’ roll some 20 years ago when he stood in the pouring rain to hitch hike his way to see R.E.M. on their Life’s Rich Pageant tour. Since that time, he's written for various daily newspapers, alt-weeklies, magazines and websites. Feel free to comment on his posts or suggest music, film and art to him at [email protected].