Posted April 24, 2020 by Jeff in Tunes

Psychedelic Furs Return with Noisy New Single

Psychedelic Furs by Matthew Reeves
Psychedelic Furs by Matthew Reeves

Led by vocalist and lyricist Richard Butler and his bassist brother Tim, the Psychedelic Furs released seven critically acclaimed studio albums that delivered classic singles such as “Sister Europe,” “Love My Way,” “The Ghost In You,”  “Pretty In Pink,” “Heaven,” “Heartbreak Beat” “All That Money Wants” and “Until She Comes.”

After a hiatus, the band recently resumed touring. Last year, it completed a North American Tour and this past October, it embarked on a sold-out tour of the UK and Europe that culminated in a triumphant show at the Roundhouse in London. The Furs will return to London in April, 2021 to headline a rescheduled Royal Albert Hall show.

The Psychedelic Furs’  eagerly awaited new album, Made Of Rain, arrives on July 31. In the meantime, the band has made the track “No-One” available. It features snarling guitars and Richard Butler’s typically raspy vocals. “No-One” alongside “Don’t Believe” and “You’ll Be Mine” can be streamed and downloaded when you preorder the album.

The album will available on CD, double gatefold vinyl in limited splatter and color variants as well as exclusive formats and autographed options via the Official Store.

A press release for the new album promises that it’ll offer “peerless permutations of art, aggression and ambience.” The album was produced by Richard Fortus with The Psychedelic Furs, while mixing duties were handled by Tim Palmer (David Bowie, U2, Robert Plant).

Photo: Matthew Reeves


Jeff started writing about rock ’n’ roll some 20 years ago when he stood in the pouring rain to hitch hike his way to see R.E.M. on their Life’s Rich Pageant tour. Since that time, he's written for various daily newspapers, alt-weeklies, magazines and websites. Feel free to comment on his posts or suggest music, film and art to him at [email protected].